Convert eps files to jpg in Linux

To convert from eps to jpg using ghostscript:

gs -sDEVICE=jpeg -dJPEGQ=100 -dNOPAUSE -dBATCH -dSAFER -r300 -sOutputFile=myfile.jpg myfile.eps

This produces huge files. You can trim and resize them in image magick:

mogrify -trim -resize 800x600 myfile.jpg

9 Responses to “Convert eps files to jpg in Linux”


  1. 1 Fred Voetsch March 2, 2010 at 17:34

    Very helpful. I was able to convert a file that Imagemagick would not so now I know the problem is not Ghostscript.

  2. 2 paresh March 30, 2010 at 09:27

    Hello

    I know how to convert eps format to jpeg format
    but i don’t know how to convert from jpeg format to eps format

    So,please give me reaply as well as possbile in my email id

  3. 4 Liming Zhang August 4, 2010 at 15:07

    Very helpful, thanks a lot!

  4. 5 Marcelo March 10, 2011 at 19:40

    When the simple “convert myfile.eps myfile.jpg” doesn’t work properly, your solution gives a perfect conversion!!!! You can’t imagine how happy I am. You just solved a huge problem in my thesis presentation!!!!!! 😀

  5. 6 web site hosting india December 7, 2012 at 19:23

    When I initially commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox
    and from now on whenever a comment is added I receive four emails with
    the same comment. There has to be an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  6. 8 Internetagentur Stuttgart January 14, 2013 at 09:34

    Great idea! Thank’s for sharing this. Used snipped to convert lot’s of eps without need for using GIMP.

  7. 9 Zac March 22, 2013 at 15:52

    gs -sDEVICE=jpeg -r300 -dEPSCrop -dJPEGQ=100 -dBATCH -dSAFER -dNOPAUSE -q -sOutputFile=MyFile.jpg MyFile.eps

    will do the same in one step


Leave a Reply

RSS Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers