Connect to an Exchange server without using Outlook

If you don’t want to use Microsoft Outlook and your Exchange server does not support IMAP, there are a couple of options:

  • DavMAil Exchange Gateway
    DavMail is an exchange gateway allowing users to use any mail/calendar client (e.g. Thunderbird with Lightning or Apple iCal) with an Exchange server through Outlook Web Access.

    It works on Windows, Linux and MacOS X.

  • Evolution
    Novell Evolution connects to Microsoft Exchange (including Exchange 2007) via the web interface and has support for mail, calendar and address book. More information can be found at the Wikipedia entry.

    Evolution mail
    Unfortunately, the MacOS version is outdated and the Vista version is buggy. It should run fine on XP and Linux.

Do you use any other way to connect to an Exchange server? Please leave a comment.

7 Responses to “Connect to an Exchange server without using Outlook”


  1. 1 Xavi February 24 at 00:56

    Hi,

    I’m fed up with the problems of outlook. It really started to prevent me from working. I’ll give it a try with Evolution, I hope it’ll be working fine otherwise I’ll try to setup something else.

    By the way, Outlook 2010 seems to be very good too but the beta version caused me some errors, hovewer it’s free for some time.

    Good post,
    Thanks

  2. 2 Shariq July 14 at 12:23

    I am using Microsoft Exchange 2010
    How to configure it in in
    ThunderBird or Evolution

  3. 3 Psst��� March 14 at 12:58

    I’m fed up with the problems of outlook. It really started to prevent me from working. I’ll give it a try with Evolution, I hope it’ll be working fine otherwise I’ll try to setup something else.
    +1

  4. 4 Jeewantha June 20 at 06:16

    I’m fed up with the problems of outlook. It really started to prevent me from working.

  5. 5 Jeewantha June 20 at 06:22

    +1 Xavi

  6. 6 http://aidewin8.com April 24 at 13:48

    We stumbled over here by a different page and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to checking out your web page yet
    again.

  7. 7 www.striptease-reviews.com April 26 at 21:17

    naturally like your web-site however you have to test the spelling
    on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it
    very bothersome to inform the reality then again I
    will definitely come back again.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.